Content Amidst the Chaos

Just another WordPress.com weblog

content- happy enough with what one has or is; not desiring something more or different; satisfied November 7, 2009

Filed under: family size — jps23 @ 3:25 am

I was reading a chapter in the Duggar book today, and she described their home life as “peaceful chaos.”  Chaos, yes, but peaceful?  Not in this house!  It is chaos.  The noise, the dishes, the laundry, the toys…it’s all chaos.  My goal is to learn to be content amidst the chaos.  I can’t maintain it, not without a housekeeper, personal shopper, nanny, or chef.  The kids are still very much in the training phase of helping out, and since I am currently very much pregnant, the follow-through on my part doesn’t always happen.  I can’t be happy with it.  Yes, I’m happy with my children (all six, soon to be seven of them), but I am not happy with their mess.  The noise does get to me.  Not enough to trade one of those children for the peace or cleanliness, but yes, it gets to me.  So happy isn’t the right word, and mad doesn’t change anything.  I just have to be content.  So this blog is a journal that will hopefully show you how I manage to be content amidst the chaos.  On the days I don’t pull it off, maybe it will make you feel better about yesterday, when you didn’t feel so equipped, either.  OR, maybe you can offer me some advice that works for you!   

Let me introduce us, to those of you who don’t know the story.    We are high school sweethearts.  We met in band, fell head over heels for each other, and started planning our life together on the steps behind the bandroom.  We’d go to college, get married (which happened while going to college), and start our family.  Our plan?  Four kids with three years in between each one.  And here we are, married 12 years, with seven kids, all around one year apart except the middle two (2 yrs) and the last two (19 mths).  “Don’t you know what causes that?”  Why yes, we do.  It happened when we were surprised with the pregnancy of our second child.  I was terrified and even cried when I saw the second line show up on the test.  And the strangest thing happened.  God offered assurance, encouragement, and direction through so many of my mommy friends, and my husband, and I knew it was going to be okay.  And while we were at it, we realized that this is what God wanted for our family.  It has nothing to do with the Duggars or the Gosselins.  We didn’t even know who they were at the time.  Believe me, following trends or fads is not important enough to me to lose sleep nightly because everyone is waking up, or to commit to 18 years times seven (plus however many more He blesses us with)!  It was a step in faith, a decision to trust God with the family size and spacing for us.  I could go into all the little assurances and confirmations we received along the way, but that would take a lot more space.  If you’re curious, just ask me. 

So here we are, a family of eight, waiting on number nine to arrive.  My friend says that after five, they all just get a number!  So that’s how you will know them- by their number.  We have three girls and almost four boys, in that order.  S1, S2, S3, S4, S5, S6, and S7 in utero.  If I can get a moment of quiet around here long enough to actually concentrate, I may come up with something more creative.  But for now, those are my kids.  And this is just a little glimpse into our chaos…

 

3 Responses to “content- happy enough with what one has or is; not desiring something more or different; satisfied”

  1. Mandy Kellogg Says:

    I love it Jamie! I love to hear all your stories about your family! I definitely admire you for the strong person you are and having what it takes to live amongs the “chaos”! Here I am w/ one child and scared to death of having a second because we have no room, we sold off ALL our baby things at a yardsale last year, it’s already chaotic around here anyway, I’m afraid of gaining 55 lbs again and NOT being able to get it back off! The list goes on and on! But, at the same time, I LOVE family, I don’t want Cheney to be alone (her step-brother is 15 and she cries every time he has to go back to his mom’s house), and I know God will provide!!!!

    Oh, and by the way, I’m #3! My mom got us all a necklace for Christmas one year that had our number on it! 🙂 Since there are the seven of us too, we all have a Dwarf name – I’m Sneezy! 🙂

  2. Cori Says:

    I love you, and I’m always proud of you. When you’re struggling and when you’re victorious, you’re always beautiful loving your family and friends the best way you know how. I’m so thankful you’re my friend.

  3. Heidi Says:

    Jamie, my mom is the “S3” of her family which included 7 children. My grandparents had 3 girls and then 2 boys and then 2 more girls. As adults they are all good friends. I’m looking forward to reading your blog and enjoying the story of your wonderful large family.


Leave a Reply

