Content Amidst the Chaos

Just another WordPress.com weblog

Thoughtful Thursday November 19, 2009

Filed under: S1,S2,S4,S5,S6,Thoughtful Thursday — jps23 @ 1:23 pm

My kids are some of the most thoughtful kids I know.  I know you probably think I am biased, but they really are extremely aware and respectful of other peoples’ feelings.  Even with each other, although they are close in age and with each other all the time, they practice compassion and thoughtfulness.  I’m not bragging or claiming this as an awesome parenting victory.  This one is all God.  Superman and I try to model and demonstrate such love, but we aren’t perfect.  You see, when I was “surprised” by my pregnancy with S2, just four months after S1 had arrived, I prayed, HARD!  I prayed for their development and their ability to get along.  God delivered, and He’s offered that same gift to us with each child.  I am grateful.  I’m not one of those parents bent on my children reaching (or racing to) certain milestones.  They’ll get there in their time, and when they need extra help doing so, we make sure they get it.  This, however, is a goal that melts my heart.  My 3 yr old son, who is every bit a rambunctious and wild little boy, came looking in the bathroom for his brother to give him his backpack today.  You don’t understand, either.  This isn’t just some backpack.  For a few months, S5 slept in this backpack.  It is very special to him, and S4 wanted to make sure that he gave it to him this morning.  As I type this now, I’m hearing S4 say to S5, “You wanna try that?” and S5 replying, “Yeah, sure, I wanna try that.  Do you wanna try that?” in his squeaky 2 yr old voice.  All the while, they are including their 1 yr old brother in their fun.  Little boys.  I don’t know if you realize this or not, but little boys don’t act that way a whole lot.  You might at one little boy who is sweet as can be, but put him with another little boy, just one year older or younger, to live and breathe with every day, and it can get tense!  That’s the one area my mom, who is my mommy mentor, has not mastered.  She was a wonderul mother and almost always has the answers to my parenting questions, but she only had one boy.  It’s different.  Just trust me when I say that.  So for Thoughtful Thursday, I’m going to abandon my post and finish listening to my boys being thoughtful of one another.  In a matter of seconds, it could be a totally different story!!!

 

Leave a Reply

