Content Amidst the Chaos

Just another WordPress.com weblog

Let’s start at the very beginning… December 28, 2009

Filed under: S7 — jps23 @ 10:54 am

I was a little inspired by the Sound of Music last night, thus my title.  We were just excited to see a family on t.v. with numbers like ours.  Makes us feel a little bit normal.  Today, I’d like to introduce you to my first, sweet blessing, known here as S1.  She is seven years old, and she is the lovliest little girl!  She is definitely a good bit of my mother-in-law.  She appreciates the girly things, which I am not known for.  I loved dresses as a little girl, and I had my CPK collection, a doll house, and Strawberry Shortcake, but I wasn’t what you would call fru-fru.  Our oldest loves fashion.  She’s a graceful ballerina who appreciates beauty in all things.  She likes to dress fancy, not cute, and the girl has a new love of hats.  She loves her long hair, but she doesn’t ever let me fix it.  Music moves her soul, and she has been in love with Jesus since she was able to say His name.  She is the greatest helper in our large family, without complaint, but she doesn’t do that great managing her own stuff.  She’s a pack rat (she’ll tell you that), and she’s a dreamer.  She can never find her shoes, she always forgets to brush her teeth, and she’s very frustrating to teach.  I know these dreamer traits will serve her well one day, and we try to encourage them, but there are days that they drive me insane!  She is one of the most creative children I know, and she has an appreciation for art, loving to draw since she was 3 yrs old.  She is completely capable of taking care of her siblings, and while some of you may think we require or expect that of her, we don’t.  She simply has that desire to love and take care of her siblings.  Yeah, they get on her nerves sometimes, but the majority of her day is spent loving on them.  Around here, she’s the one in charge, sure of herself, and willing to try just about anything.  She isn’t quite as confident outside our family.  She’s a little bashful in a room of people she doesn’t know too well.  She’s very hesitant and second guesses herself a bit.  But all these things, good or bad, make her who she is.  She is simply amazing to us, and we couldn’t have hand-picked a better first born child for a family like ours.  She’s an absolute treasure.

Is this the little girl I carried?

Our graceful ballerina

 

Leave a Reply

