Content Amidst the Chaos

Just another WordPress.com weblog

Oops! December 29, 2009

Filed under: S2 — jps23 @ 3:05 pm

S2 was our oops.  We knew we wanted more children, but we had it in our minds that they would be a little more spaced.  I was nursing S1, and you know everyone says you can’t get pregnant if you are nursing exclusively.  I was practicing natural family planning, charting cycles and watching indicators offered by my body to know if I was fertile or not.  The problem was, I didn’t read the appendix where it says all that is altered when you are nursing.  So when S1 was just four months old, I found out I was pregnant again.  My mom is mortified that I share this, and she thinks it’s awful that I don’t mind S2 knowing this, but I think it’s even better than had we planned her.  You see, even though we had not “planned” her, God did.  And His plan for her in our life led us to open our hearts, minds, and my womb to the other five precious children.  I would not be who I am today if it weren’t for this sweet little girl coming into my life.  I can’t wait to tell you about her!

S2 is a unique child.  She was diagnosed with an autism spectrum disorder at the age of two, and while that doesn’t define her, it does explain a lot about who she is and why.  When she loves something, it is that kind of love that is challenged by nothing.  She usually has a strong love of one thing at a time.  For example, it started with butterflies.  One summer, she would not wear a bathing suit unless it had butterflies on it, and I’m not exaggerating.  Then it was whales.  After visiting the Georgia Aquarium for the first time, she fell in love with the Beluga whales, hard.  Our big passenger van is called the Beluga Bus because it’s white and reminds her of the whales!  Now, her love is of horses.  She loves animals of all sorts, but these have been the special ones.  She loves people the same way, which can sometimes be awkward for the one on the receiving end.  That’s just who she is.  She likes her quiet time, and she is now old enough to know when she needs it.  She is hesistant in trying new things, but when she tries it, she rarely gives up.  When she learns something, she never forgets it.  She prefers blue jeans and shirts that fit, and in the summer time, the less skin covered up, the better.  We’re working on that one with her!  Her clothes cannot be lose because of her sensory issues.  She calls them “wiggly”, and this issue also contributes to the fact that she doesn’t like dresses.  Although kids with her diagnosis aren’t usually cuddly or snuggly, she loves to do both with her daddy and me.  No one else, really, but us.  For example, she refuses to sit in Santa’s lap, even this year!  She likes to run and play outside, and at an early age of three, she could run and kick a soccer ball straight down the yard.  This always struck me as odd because we had to teach her how to use steps/stairs.  She is very silly, and when she gets tickled, it’s hard to bring her down.  She doesn’t discriminate.  She has taken ballet for a year and a half, and she has decided that even though she likes it, she wants to find her “thing”.  We’re going to see if horse riding lessons are that thing.  She has taught us to appreciate every moment in life, even the hard ones, for they have made us the family that we are.  I love this girl, and I’m so glad God went with His plan instead of mine.

She was one happy girl this day!

Sweet smiles

 

Leave a Reply

