Content Amidst the Chaos

Just another WordPress.com weblog

Homework Stations January 12, 2010

Filed under: Uncategorized — jps23 @ 10:27 pm

At the beginning of the school year, I sent home a copy of an idea from one of the parent magazines for a homework station.  Busy with teaching and tired from being pregnant, I started the project for my kids but never finished it.  It is still not completely finished, but it is close enough.  Now, this could also be called a work station for any homeschool moms who don’t have “homework”, since all work done at home would technically be homework!  The girls love them, and they are eager to do their homework now that they have these.  My kids have a tendency to carry things off and lose them (A LOT!), so they have been told that the items in their stations can only be used for homework.  Drumroll, please……………..

The left side has pink clips for clipping up a sheet of paper, or a few.  The little squares are addition and subtraction charts for the girls to use  to check their work or help them figure out the answer.  My girls aren’t quite at the point where they have figured out they can be totally lazy and use this as their answer without trying to figure it out on their own.  In addition to this, they are also in the memorizing stage of the game, so the more they see a fact, the better they will know it.  And yes, that is a calculator in the middle.  They don’t really know how to use it except for very basic functions.  Above that area is where I am going to put the metal strips that IKEA sells with magnets for hanging artwork, and I will put magnets on their scissors and other tools they might use.  I just have to find the strips first.  They are deep in some box that has yet to be unpacked from our move (six months ago).  On the right side, there is a pencil box and a velcroed pencil sharpener so they can take it off to use it.  I also bought them a giant pencil from the Dollar Tree and told them it is their homework pencil, only to be used for homework!  Everything else came from the Tree, except the pencil sharpener, which was from Target for $1.29 a piece.  We plan on painting the back of them, which is covered in print and cardboard colored, and also decorating the front and back with stickers (a little, but not too much).

They are super excited about these, which helps them stay focused, when they aren’t playing bank or “pencil friends”, which is a game where their pencils are like people, and they have this complete situational interaction with their pencils.  There’s a mom, dad, sister, friend, etc.  Yeah, they are weirdly creative like that.  The other game they played tonight was “chapstick friends” with the two new sticks of chapstick that I picked up at the Dollar Tree.

I’m planning on trying to link this to one of my favorite blogs, We Are That Family, tomorrow for her Works For Me Wednesday post (which I think is called a blog carnival in blogland, but I’m still learning, so I’m not real sure).  I’m nervous because it exposes my blog to people who are actually good at this kind of thing, but I’m going for it anyway!

 

2 Responses to “Homework Stations”

  1. I love this. When I saw the picture I was immediately reminded of something similar my teacher used like this when I was in 1st grade. We have been having problems keeping my oldest focused on her homework while the littles are also around being loud and rowdy. This inspires me to try this, because it might help her focus!

  2. RLR Says:

    What a great idea! My kids have a ‘kid office’ – but my son still gets distracted while doing his homework. This looks like a great way to keep his eyes from wandering and also to keep the necessary tools close by!
    I didn’t post a WFMW this week, but I’m glad that you did!


Leave a Reply

