Content Amidst the Chaos

Just another WordPress.com weblog

It’s been a while… January 28, 2010

Filed under: Uncategorized — jps23 @ 12:49 am

Yes, I have found myself a little too busy to blog these days.  Now that I don’t have a “perscription” to sit on my fanny and rest, I find it hard to make myself sit and blog.  There is so much I want to tell you, but there is so much calling me around here.  You know how it goes, too, if you have a newborn.  If they need you, you are there for them, and they don’t really work with schedules.  If they don’t, you are grabbing up every chance that they don’t to get things done or just rest.  I don’t want to just ramble on here, and the few opportunities I’ve had to blog, my mind was absolute mush.  So, this is my attempt to get back on schedule.  I’m going to give you a peek into our most recent chaos, as it comes in droves around here!

This past Friday, I took S7 to the doctor to have his congestion listened to.  The older sibs all had some sort of stuffiness or runny noses this week, and since they can’t seem to keep their hands off their sweet little brother, one of them shared their germs with him.  When he started having trouble keeping his feedings down, I thought it was time to visit the doctor.  She heard some crackling on one side of his chest and decided he needed to go to the children’s hospital to be checked out a little further.  The official diagnosis was bronchiolitis, which is basically a cold in a baby with bronchiales too small for the congestion to move through.  He had to have the assitance of oxygen to breath, and it took him the entire weekend to be able to breath undistressed without it.  Superman went home Sunday to pick up the kids, get them ready for school the next day, and get ready for work, and the bus has some overheating going on.  It was a crack in the radiator.  Pop came to the rescue and sealed it, which will hopefully be a good fix until we can replace it.  We get home on Monday and rest until the kids are delivered home from the grandparents’ houses.  The next day, I go to pick up the kids after meeting Superman for lunch, and I get a flat tire on the red van.  Did I mention that Superman got poked in eye at the dinner table Monday night?  S6 threw his hand up in the air while  in Daddy’s lap and poked him in the eye.  So, the flat tire is a huge inconvenience because the next day, Superman’s eye is so irritated that it is super sensitive to the sun, making it near impossible to drive.  I have to take him to get his eye checked out, which can’t be done at the local Lenscrafter’s without paying 129 bucks to do so.  They recommend he go see his PCP and get a referral for an opthamologist.  Well, my mom’s working that day, his mom’s on her way out of town for a funeral, and I have to pick of the kids soon, so no one can take him.  He ends up calling his grandparents and his Poppie takes him to both doctors and Waffle House for lunch.  In the meantime, I pick up the girls from school, while the boys go home with my mom.  I drop them off for a playdate, trade S7 for S5 and S6 at my mom’s house, and head over to the Babies Can’t Wait center for therapy.  We wrap up therapy, I pick up S4 and S7 from Grandma’s, the girls from their playdate, and head home in time to whip up a couple of boxes of mac and cheese before we leave for church.  Is that all?  I know I must have left something out.  This is our life.  Chaos is an understatement some days.

Wrapping up on a good note, however, I managed to schedule S2’s first horse riding lesson.  If you know us in real life, you know how much this girl obsesses over loves horses!  She has wanted to be a bona-fide cowgirl for quite some time now, and it is finally coming true!  Her first lesson is scheduled for February 6th, and I don’t know who is more excited- me or her!

 

2 Responses to “It’s been a while…”

  1. Catherine Says:

    I feel like I am treading water too. So much to do, but with a newborn those things get swept to the side. We’ve been battling congestion too, it’s hard to tell with Boden if it’s reflux or congestion. I listen constantly to his chest, and we do breathing treatments for good measure:). I am glad he’s on the mend:)

  2. Stacie Says:

    You & Superman really do amaze me! I don’t know how you get it all done, AND enjoy the ride in the process. You’re an inspiration!


Leave a Reply

