Content Amidst the Chaos

Just another WordPress.com weblog

So much to do, so little time March 10, 2010

Filed under: Our home — jps23 @ 7:26 pm

Now, I know that is a lie, at least part of it.  Yes, I do have so much to do, but no, I am not stuck with so little time.  I have the same 24 hours each day that all of you have.  The “much” to do is my own fault.  Yes, I have seven kids, and they are a lot of work.  I obviously cannot change that situation, but I could cut out some of the extra stuff.  I’m making that attempt, but I am decluttering from quite a few years of not doing so, and it’s not a natural talent I have, so it’s going to take a while and require some very intentional effort on my part.  That is why I haven’t posted recently.  The few minutes it takes me to post, I could declutter SOMETHING.  So I will not be posting quite as frequently as I did in the beginning.  Every day?  HA!  I laught at the thought now.  I’ll take you through my journey, as soon as I make some progress.  I made a little the other day, but if I can’t keep moving forward, the seven kids I mentioned earlier will just undo what’s been done (okay, just six are capable of that, but the seventh one requires me so much that I can’t move forward as quickly, so I get to blame him, too)!  I’m starting with the book The House That Cleans Itself, by Mary Starns Clark.  I will say this, I’ve read it and am beginning to implement it.  It is going to be a process.  There is no quick fix.  And the greatest part is that she was a messy, unorganized person at one time, so she knows what it is like to be me!  She is not someone born with the gift of organization who has always been good at this, so she replies to typical situations and advice for how to deal with them the same way I would.  I sometimes feel like she’s in my head as I read.

She uses a system that has you go area by area, or room by room.  Sometimes you have an area within a room that serves a special purpose (i.e. a desk in your bedroom for bill paying), and she counts areas like this seperate from the room itself.  You completely declutter AND clean that room, sorting into trash, donate, belongs somewhere else, and maybe (which I am avoiding using).  She then talks about setting up your room where the areas that get messy the quickest are not in the line of sight as you enter the room, so even if it is a little messy, it won’t be the first thing you see and then your room will appear to be clean.  She has tons of other great advice and approaches that I will comment on through the process.  I did alter her process a little because of my situation.  It is hard to declutter your kids’ stuff with them home.  Since Superman had them all out of the house last Saturday, I decluttered three rooms before I attempted to clean them: the playroom (which we are converting to a living room- I’ll explain later), the boys’ room, and the girls’ room (or at least Picasso’s area- that took more time than any of the other areas I worked in)!  If I find my camera, I’ll take before and after photos.  The missing camera is one of the many reasons that something has to change!!!  I’ll keep you updated…

 

2 Responses to “So much to do, so little time”

  1. catherine boozer Says:

    good luck 🙂

  2. Heidi Says:

    You are not alone! I and my whole family are messy and disorganized. It is a daily battle, but I feel like there must be a better way! I won’t give up! Keep up the good work. It feels good to get places cleaned out and organized.


Leave a Reply

